News and information for the worldwide dredging industry

Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print

Brinson Is new NWC Chairman

J. Ron Brinson, former port director and now special projects coordinator of the Port of New Orleans, was elected chairman of the National Waterways Conference, Inc. at the annual meeting in Louisville, Kentucky.

He succeeds Craig E. Philip of Nashville, president and chief executive officer of Ingram Barge Co., who had served as chairman for the past two years.

Brinson was president and chief executive officer of the Port of New Orleans from 1986 until the end of September 2001. He is now in charge of the “millennium port” and other special projects. Earlier, for seven years, he was president of the American Association of Port Authorities. He previously worked for the South Carolina State Ports Authority and as a reporter and associate editor of the Charleston (South Carolina) News and Courier.

H. Merritt Lane, III, also of New Orleans, was named vice chairman. He is president and chief executive officer of Canal Barge Company. Harry N. Cook of Washington, D.C. was re-elected president.

Fred C. Raskin of Andover, Massachusetts, was named first vice president. Other vice presidents elected at the meeting were W. Scott McGeorge of Pine Bluff, Arkansas, president of Pine Bluff Sand & Gravel Co., Joseph L. (Lew) Meibergen of Enid, Oklahoma, chairman and chief executive officer of Johnston Enterprises, Inc.; J. Scott Robinson of Muskogee, Oklahoma, port director of the Port of Muskogee, and Michael J. Toohey of Washington, D.C., government relations director of Ashland Inc.

Attorney William H. Satterfield of Balch and Bingham law firm in Birmingham, Alabama was named secretary and counsel, and Glenn W. Vanselow, Ph.D., of Vancouver, Washington, executive director of the Pacific Northwest Waterways Association, is the new treasurer.

Five new members were elected to the executive committee: Christopher J. Brescia of St. Louis, president of MARC 2000; C. Barry Gipson or Hartfort, Illinois, president of National Maintenance & Repair, Inc.; John W. Holt, Jr., of Shreveport, Louisiana, executive director of the Caddo-Bossier Parishes Port Commission; Heather Hampton-Knodle of Hillsboro, Illinois, executive director, Upper Mississippi, Illinois and Missouri Rivers Association; and Emmett R. Neal of Vicksburg, Mississippi, marine operations director of Ergon, Inc.

The board of directors gained 12 new members, including Brescia and Raymond Butler of Friendswood, Texas, executive director of the Gulf Intracoastal Canal Association, who were elected in the association category.

Elected in the carrier category were Terry R. Becker of Minneapolis, Minnesota, president of Riverway Co.; Robert Faillo of Cincinnati, president of Midland Enterprises Inc., and Stephen D. Little of Paducah, Kentucky, president of the Crounse Corp.

Brinson and Raskin were elected to new terms in the public members category. In the shippers category, Brant Harper of St. Louis, manager of the marine division, Bunge North America, Inc., and J. Stephen Lucas of Wilton, Connecticut, vice president of Luis Dreyfus Corp., were elected.

Three new members won terms in the waterways services category – Cathy Shantz Hammond of Hebron, Kentucky, president of Inland Marine Service, Inc; C. Ronald James of Paducah, Kentucky, president of James Marine, Inc., and Christopher M. Parsonage of Chesterfield, Missouri, president of Parsonage Marine Investments LLC.

American Electric Power’s River Transportation Division in Lakin, West Virginia, won the grand prize in the annual Waterways Literature and Promotional Materials competition.

In 2002, the National Waterways Conference will hold its annual meeting on September 4 through 6 at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Add your comment:
Edit Module